Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
High-Hat Setup, HH Foot Pedal Not Activating As Expected
Hi...I'm a newbie to sddrummer.com. Just got SD2000 kit; Issue: when attempting to use High-Hats (HH), I have to push really hard into the foot pedal to activate to open/close it for that classic "ssssshump" sound. The SD2000 foot pedal is sitting on rather plush carpet, so admittedly, there's some "give" when you press down on the pedal and its housing, however, there appears to be a lot more effort than need be . The SD2000 user's manual is useless in trying to solve this issue. I have no idea what I'm doing, but I tried to see if increasing sensitivity of HH/foot pedal made a difference -- but I must not be doing something right. Is there a standard "HH/foot-pedal syncing tutorial somewhere I can view? Any other resources to improve the function of the HH and foot pedal together? Appreciate any direction, recommendation(s) and comments. Thank You!
That's a tough one. I was just playing around with my hi-hat controller and I found that the higher the I set the Sensitivity the worse the controller functions. It functions so bad at the highest sensitivity settings that the pedal seems not to work at all. I find a setting of 16 to be the best for me. Anything higher the pedal doesn't track very well. I also have my Curve = Dynamic, and Splash Sensitivity = 08. I can't seem to get the hi-hat to splash on any other setting than 8. 

If those setting don't work for you, then you might have to give Simmons a call.

BTW, welcome to the forum!
My Home Page: www.Hellfiredrums.com